

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING (MAYORAL ELECTION) HELD AT WAVERLEY COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CNR PAUL STREET AND BONDI ROAD, BONDI JUNCTION ON MONDAY, 10 JANUARY 2022

Present:

Councillor Paula Masselos (newly elected Mayor)	Lawson Ward
Councillor Elaine Keenan (newly elected Deputy Mayor)	Lawson Ward
Councillor Sally Betts	Hunter Ward
Councillor Angela Burrill	Lawson Ward
Councillor Ludovico Fabiano	Waverley Ward
Councillor Leon Goltsman	Bondi Ward
Councillor Michelle Gray	Bondi Ward
Councillor Tony Kay	Waverley Ward
Councillor Steven Lewis	Hunter Ward
Councillor Tim Murray	Waverley Ward
Councillor Dominic Wy Kanak	Bondi Ward

Staff in attendance:

Emily Scott	General Manager
Sharon Cassidy	Acting Director, Community, Assets and Operations
Meredith Graham	Acting Director, Customer Service and Organisation Improvement
Evan Hutchings	Director, Finance and Governance
Mitchell Reid	Acting Director, Planning, Environment and Regulatory

The General Manager opened the meeting at 7.02 pm. Those present were as listed above.

Following the election of the Mayor, the General Manager relinquished the chair and Cr Masselos, the newly elected Mayor, assumed the chair.

PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIGENOUS HERITAGE

The General Manager read the following Opening Prayer and Acknowledgement of Indigenous Heritage:

God, we pray for wisdom to govern with justice and equity. That we may see clearly and speak the truth and that we work together in harmony and mutual respect. May our actions demonstrate courage and leadership so that in all our works thy will be done. Amen.

Waverley Council respectfully acknowledges our Indigenous heritage and recognises the ongoing Aboriginal traditional custodianship of the land which forms our Local Government Area.

OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE FOR COUNCILLORS

In accordance with section 233A of the *Local Government Act 1993*, a councillor must take an oath of office or make an affirmation of office in the form prescribed below at or before the first meeting of the council after the councillor is elected.

Oath

I [name of councillor] swear that I will undertake the duties of the office of councillor in the best interests of the people of Waverley and of Waverley Council and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

Affirmation

I [name of councillor] solemnly and sincerely declare and affirm that I will undertake the duties of the office of councillor in the best interests of the people of Waverley and of Waverley Council and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

The following Councillors took the oath or made the affirmation prior to the meeting:

- Cr Betts took the oath.
- Cr Burrill took the oath.
- Cr Fabiano made the affirmation.
- Cr Goltsman made the affirmation.
- Cr Gray made the affirmation.
- Cr Kay made the affirmation.
- Cr Keenan made the affirmation.
- Cr Lewis made the affirmation.
- Cr Masselos made the affirmation.
- Cr Murray took the oath.
- Cr Nemesh took the oath.
- Cr Wy Kanak made the affirmation.

1. Apologies/Leaves of Absence

Apologies were received and accepted from Cr Nemesh.

2. Declarations of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

The Chair called for declarations of interest and none were received.

3. Reports

ME/3.1/22.01 Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor by Councillors (SF21/4356)

MOTION / UNANIMOUS DECISION	Mover:	Cr Masselos
	Seconder:	Cr Goltsman

That Council:

- 1. Notes the term of office of the Mayor elected at this meeting is until the next mayoral election on 19 September 2023.
- 2. Agrees to elect a Deputy Mayor for the term of the Mayor until the next mayoral election on 19 September 2023.
- 3. Notes the procedure for the election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor by Councillors outlined in this report.
- 4. Determines the method of voting for the election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor to be the Open voting method.

Election of Mayor

The election of the Mayor was conducted by the Returning Officer as follows:

The Returning Officer informed the meeting that two written nominations in the prescribed form had been received and sought any further nominations before closing nominations.

At the close of nominations, the following nominations had been received:

Cr Masselos and Cr Nemesh.

The election of Mayor proceeded by means of open voting and the following votes were recorded:

Cr Masselos 7 votes – Crs Gray, Lewis, Murray, Masselos, Fabiano, Keenan and Wy Kanak.

Cr Nemesh 4 votes – Crs Goltsman, Betts, Burrill and Kay.

This is page 3 of the Minutes of the Council held on 10 January 2022

Cr Masselos was declared elected as Mayor of Waverley Council until the next mayoral election on 19 September 2023.

Election of Deputy Mayor

The election of the Deputy Mayor was conducted by the Returning Officer as follows:

The Returning Officer informed the meeting that two written nominations in the prescribed form had been received and sought any further nominations before closing nominations.

At the close of nominations, the following nominations had been received:

Cr Kay and Cr Keenan.

The election of Deputy Mayor proceeded by means of open voting and the following votes were recorded:

Cr Kay 4 votes – Crs Betts, Goltsman, Burrill and Kay.

Cr Keenan 7 votes – Crs Murray, Masselos, Lewis, Fabiano, Gray, Keenan and Wy Kanak.

Cr Keenan was declared elected as Deputy Mayor of Waverley Council until the next mayoral election on 19 September 2023.

ME/3.2/22.01 Casual Vacancies (SF21/940)

MOTION / UNANIMOUS DECISIONMover:Cr MasselosSeconder:Cr Keenan

That Council:

- 1. Pursuant to section 291A(1)(b) of the *Local Government Act 1993* (the Act), declares that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a councillor within 18 months after the last ordinary election of councillors for Council on 4 December 2021 are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at that election for the office in accordance with section 291A of the Act.
- 2. Directs the General Manager to notify the NSW Electoral Commission of Council's decision within seven days of this resolution.
- 4. Meeting Closure

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 7.25 PM.

SIGNED AND CONFIRMED MAYOR 15 FEBRUARY 2022