

MINUTES OF THE WAVERLEY EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT WAVERLEY COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CNR PAUL STREET AND BONDI ROAD, BONDI JUNCTION ON THURSDAY, 26 OCTOBER 2023

Present:

Councillor Paula Masselos (Mayor) (Chair) Lawson Ward Councillor Ludovico Fabiano (Deputy Mayor) Waverley Ward Councillor Sally Betts **Hunter Ward** Councillor Angela Burrill Lawson Ward Councillor Leon Goltsman Bondi Ward Councillor Tony Kay Waverley Ward Councillor Elaine Keenan Lawson Ward **Councillor Steven Lewis Hunter Ward** Councillor Tim Murray Waverley Ward Councillor Will Nemesh **Hunter Ward** Councillor Dominic Wy Kanak Bondi Ward

Staff in attendance:

Emily Scott General Manager

Sharon Cassidy Director, Assets and Operations
Tara Czinner Director, Corporate Services

Fletcher Rayner Director, Planning, Sustainability and Compliance

Ben Thompson Director, Community, Culture and Customer Experience

At the commencement of proceedings at 6.32 pm, those present were as listed above, with the exception of Cr Burrill who arrived at 6.36 pm during addresses by members of the public and Cr Kay who arrived at 8.15 pm during item CM/4.1/23.10E.

Crs Burrill and Kay attended the meeting by audio-visual link.

At 7.42 pm, during addresses by members of the public, the meeting was adjourned due to disorder. The meeting resumed at 7.49 pm.

At 7.59 pm, during addresses by members of the public, the meeting was adjourned due to disorder. The meeting resumed at 8.04 pm.

PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIGENOUS HERITAGE

The General Manager read the following Opening Prayer:

God, we pray for wisdom to govern with justice and equity. That we may see clearly and speak the truth and that we work together in harmony and mutual respect. May our actions demonstrate courage and leadership so that in all our works thy will be done. Amen.

The Mayor read the following Acknowledgement of Indigenous Heritage:

Waverley Council respectfully acknowledges our Indigenous heritage and recognises the ongoing Aboriginal traditional custodianship of the land which forms our local government area.

1. Apologies/Leaves of Absence

Apologies were received from Cr Michelle Gray.

2. Declarations of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

The Chair called for declarations of interest and the following was received:

2.1 Cr Goltsman declared a less than significant non-pecuniary interest in item CM/4.1/23.10 – Deputy Mayor and informed the meeting that he may know some of the people who petitioned and wrote to Council.

3. Addresses by Members of the Public

- 3.1 D Rod CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.2 S Corne CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.3 A Stone CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.4 J Pinczewski CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.5 K Samuel CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.6 O Birenbaum CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.7 S Elias CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.8 B Klein CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.9 M Guttman-Jones CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.10 V Solomon CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.

- 3.11 A resident CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.12 G Stricker-Phelps CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.13 A Resident CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.14 L Spitzer CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.15 C Maltby CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.16 V Porzsolt (on behalf of Jews Against the Occupation) CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.17 P Slezak CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.18 M Berkon CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor.
- 3.19 D Rod CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees.
- 3.21 J Pinczewski CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees.
- 3.22 B Klein CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees.
- 3.23 A resident CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees.
- 3.24 V Porzsolt (on behalf of Jews Against the Occupation) CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees.

4. Notices of Motions

CM/4.1/23.10E Deputy Mayor (SF23/196)

Cr Goltsman declared a less than significant non-pecuniary interest in this item and informed the meeting that he may know some of the people who petitioned and wrote to Council.

MOTION Mover: Cr Nemesh

Seconder: Cr Lewis

That Council:

- 1. Amends the term of office of the Deputy Mayor from up to and including 13 September 2024 to up to and including 26 October 2023.
- 2. Notes that this motion would declare the position of Deputy Mayor as vacant.

AT THIS STAGE IN THE PROCEEDINGS, CR WY KANAK MOVED A MOTION OF DISSENT ON THE CHAIR'S RULING THAT THE MOTION WAS LAWFUL.

THE MOTION OF DISSENT WAS PUT AND DECLARED LOST.

Division

For the Motion of Dissent: Cr Fabiano and Wy Kanak.

Against the Motion of Dissent: Crs Betts, Burrill, Goltsman, Kay, Keenan, Lewis, Masselos, Murray and

Nemesh.

THE MOTION WAS THEN PUT AND DECLARED CARRIED.

DECISION

That Council:

- 1. Amends the term of office of the Deputy Mayor from up to and including 13 September 2024 to up to and including 26 October 2023.
- 2. Notes that this motion would declare the position of Deputy Mayor as vacant.

Division

For the Motion: Crs Betts, Burrill, Goltsman, Kay, Keenan, Lewis, Masselos, Murray and Nemesh.

Against the Motion: Crs Fabiano and Wy Kanak.

D Rod, S Corne, A Stone, J Pinczewski, K Samuel, O Birenbaum, S Elias, B Klein, M Guttman-Jones, V Soloman, G Stricker-Phelps, L Spitzer, C Maltby, V Porzsolt, P Slezak, M Berkon and two residents addressed the meeting.

CM/4.2/23.10E Appointment of Councillors to Committees (SF23/196)

MOTION Mover: Cr Goltsman

Seconder: Cr Betts

That Council:

- 1. Removes Crs Fabiano and Wy Kanak from the following committees:
 - (a) Traffic Committee.
 - (b) Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee.
 - (c) Multicultural Advisory Committee.
- 2. Removes Cr Wy Kanak as chair of the Finance, Operations and Community Services Committee.
- 3. Removes Cr Fabiano as deputy chair of the Strategic Planning and Development Committee.

THE MOVER OF THE MOTION ACCEPTED AN AMENDMENT TO CLAUSE 1, THE DELETION OF CLAUSE 1(c) AND THE ADDITION OF A NEW CLAUSE.

THE MOTION AS AMENDED WAS THEN PUT AND DECLARED CARRIED

DECISION

That Council:

- 1. Removes Crs Fabiano and Wy Kanak as voting members of the following committees:
 - (a) Traffic Committee.

- (b) Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee.
- 2. Removes Cr Fabiano as deputy chair of the Multicultural Advisory Committee.
- 3. Removes Cr Wy Kanak as chair of the Finance, Operations and Community Services Committee.
- 4. Removes Cr Fabiano as deputy chair of the Strategic Planning and Development Committee.

Division

For the Motion: Crs Betts, Burrill, Goltsman, Kay, Lewis and Nemesh.

Against the Motion: Crs Fabiano, Keenan, Masselos, Murray and Wy Kanak.

D Rod, J Pinczewski, B Klein, V Porzsolt and a resident addressed the meeting.

5. Urgent Business

There was no urgent business.

6. Meeting Closure

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 9.22 PM.

SIGNED AND CONFIRMED MAYOR 21 NOVEMBER 2023

.....